Beyond the shore

Proverbs 31:25-26
She is clothed with strength and dignity, she can laugh at the days to come. She speaks with wisdom, and faithful instruction is on her tongue.

“I’m glad you can hear how God’s been taking care of you,” she said.

I laugh, because that’s been the theme of this season: I’m not going through this alone, and God has been providing people around me who have been so supportive and encouraging.

When I was feeling down, people sent me encouraging texts at the perfect time.

When I was feeling anxious, people prayed for me.

When I was feeling uneasy, my mom called me to remind me of my strengths and my potential.

When I was feeling lonely, friends hit me up to hang out.

I probably wouldn’t have noticed the perfect timing of these gestures if I weren’t going through all of this right now. This period of confusion has made me hyperaware of how much love and care people have showered upon me and how much God is the common factor in the midst of all this. As I’m able to spend more time with the people I love, giving them advice, praying for them, encouraging them to be themselves, God reminds me, “Hey, you need to hear all this for yourself too.”

God says, “Don’t believe the lies that label you as something that you’re not.”

Friends say, “We’re here for you. We know you’re not perfect, but we still love you.”

My mom says, “You still have a lot to learn and time to grow, and it’s ok, I will always stand beside you.”

Repeatedly, God tells me: Don’t worry, I got this. Don’t worry, everything will be okay. Don’t worry, I’m taking care of you.

God knows exactly what I need at the right time. I have never seen Him work in my life in such an apparent way. My friends laugh with me, saying, “You’ll be okay. We are confident that you’ll be okay. God is making it so obvious that you will be, and even if you don’t believe what we say, believe what He’s telling you.”

Be free to be you: the strong, independent, motherly woman that you are. Be brave: keep your head up and laugh at the days to come. 

Be who I made you to be, because I make no mistakes.

Leave a Reply

