The One who lives and loves

Because He lives, I can face tomorrow
Because He lives, all fear is gone
Because I know He holds the future
And life is worth the living just because He lives

I’ve had to come to terms with a lot of scars and wounds in the last couple of weeks, wounds that I had no idea ran so deep, scars that still protruded and made themselves much more obnoxiously visible than before.

Because He lives, I can face tomorrow

But my Father has wrapped me in His perfection, and I am no longer bound by the things of the past. It’s been difficult though. Extremely difficult to face these demons of my past and realize that as a new creation, I should no longer hold on to the shame and guilt that has been holding me down for years. Just as Lot’s wife looked back at all that she had left behind, a place of sin and darkness that the Lord had engulfed in flames, I, too, turned around, unable to look forward to see the road of freedom that He paved for me up ahead. Even though I continually told myself that I had indeed left all of that in my past, just a quick glance behind me told me otherwise.

Because He lives, all fear is gone

Jesus died and rose again for my sins. Because He made a home in my heart, I can rest assured knowing that I will be made new again and again. It’s a healing process, one that doesn’t happen overnight. By His grace, I’m able to run to Him with this baggage and leave it at His feet, no matter how many times I keep picking it up. My Healer sets me free time and time again.

Because I know He holds the future

In this new season, I’m able to see the ways that God is redeeming me from my past hurts and wounds. I feel valued and respected, comforted and protected. I’m reminded of His unfailing love through answered prayers and His faithful provision. Above all, I’m reminded of how much He loves me and cares for me. Despite all that I had to go through to be where I am now, He remembered me. My Father didn’t forget about me.

And life is worth the living just because He lives

We will fail and fall short of His glory, but we can be confident in our future because the Author of Salvation has given us freedom to walk in His grace and presence. We’re no longer bound by the chains of our past; instead, our Shepherd will guide us towards a brighter future. I can smile and praise Him for all the ways He has taken my past to mold me into the person I am today, and my soul can find rest in the ways He will continuously draw me closer to Him and His goodness.

1 Chronicles 16:34
Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good; his love endures forever.

Leave a Reply

