Gifts and faith

This has been my question since the beginning of the school year. God, what is my gift? What are my talents? How can I use them to further the kingdom? What have You specifically equipped me with, tailored to fit me perfectly?

Recently, we had a leadership meeting for DCF, and Hydie goes, “Hey Cindy, remember earlier this year when you said you wanted to know how you can serve and I told you to wait a year? It’s been about a year, and now you’re a core group leader. I feel like God’s answered you.”

I’ve always loved teaching and working with people younger than me. I feel as though people have always told me that I had a gift in that area, but this year was the year I received the most confirmation regarding teaching. I was a bit afraid to admit that maybe this is my calling; these confirmations remained in my heart and mind with such an ostensible permanence that I was a bit hesitant to claim teaching as my sole purpose in life. I decided to act on it anyway, and I told the staff that I wanted to lead a core group next year.

Even more recently, this question kept coming up in my head, and I had to write it down and leave it on my desk.

What does it mean to be a faithful servant of God?

Every time I sat down to work on a paper or (try to) study, that question would so obnoxiously stare right back at me on that sheet of lined paper. I still have no idea where that question came from, especially in the midst of finals and lack of sleep and major procrastination. Even worse, I felt as though I didn’t know how to answer this question that I’m sure I’ve been asked many times in the past. Why couldn’t I come up with at least a Sunday school answer to this question that seems so simple?

Today was my last in-class final (only a take-home final left, woooo!), so I decided to take a break. Once again, that question was on my desk.

“Alright, God, help me find some sort of answer here.”

Almost immediately, I found myself looking at Hebrews 11:1-2:
Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see. This is what the ancients were commended for.

What we hope for = something in the future, something yet to happen
Certain of what we do not see = absolutely positive despite not being able to physically see it (yet)

We hope for something we have yet to see, but with faith, we’re certain about the outcome despite not yet seeing.

The rest of Hebrews 11 talks about a lot of major characters in the Bible, such as Noah, Abraham, Isaac, Moses, etc., who acted in faith despite not knowing what was to happen. But they were certain about the outcome: God remains faithful, and He will fulfill His promises.

A faithful servant of God is one who steps forward to do God’s work, not sure of what’s ahead but sure that God will take you there.

But, at the same time, Hebrews 11:39-40 says, “These were all commended for their faith, yet none of them received what had been promised. God had planned something better for us so that only together with us would they be made perfect.

As a faithful servant, I may never see the results/outcomes of my act of faith. But God plans good things so that only together can they be fulfilled. I may never see the end result, but God has made the entire process beautiful, and whoever gets to see or experience the end result will surely be just as blessed as those of us going through the process of acting on faith in God. I may never see the fruits of my labor as a core group leader. I may never see how my act of faith will bring about any positive changes or growth. But that’s completely okay with me. Just let me be a vessel for God to work through me, because someone else will be able to receive God’s blessings and the fulfillment of His promise.

God took me even further in 1 Peter 4:10, “Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God’s grace in its various forms.

I decided to become a core group leader, not because I’m absolutely positive of my own skills and gifts, but because I’m absolutely positive of God’s faithfulness to me, that He will take me to greater heights, and He will pave the way for me to do His work. And whatever I pour out, I may never see the fruits of it all. But by saying “yes,” I’m letting God use me and the gifts He’s given me to show His love and grace to other people, and I’m hoping that other people will be blessed by my act of faith. I may never see a return for what I do, but it’s okay because other people will be blessed by the fulfillment of this act of faith. As long as I am using my gifts and talents to love and serve others, I’m hoping that other people can see God’s grace through all of it and the many ways He’s been so faithful in my life, and in turn, I’m hoping that others can act in faith and use their gifts to love and serve others.

I believe God answered two of my questions in one sitting… He’s way too faithful.

Leave a Reply

