3 things I’ve learned

1. “There is no problem in my life so large that it is beyond God’s control, and there is no detail in my life so small that it is beyond God’s concern.”
I wish I could’ve come up with a line like that. I was doing one of my devotions on Psalm 139 while reading “Seeing Through Heaven’s Eyes,” and this line came up. When I think back on what I’ve been through (so far), I remember all the times I would get so frustrated with God, asking Him, “Why aren’t you here when I need you?” Just as the speaker in the “Footprints in the Sand” poem  would say: “During the most trying periods of my life there have only been one set of footprints in the sand. Why, when I needed you the most, you have not been there for me?”

I admit that sometimes I make my problems much bigger than they really are. Other times, I keep all my biggest conflicts to myself. Regardless, God’s been here with me for all of that. He was next to me, comforting me as I vented to my roommate. He was there on that bench at the arboretum. Most times, I feel like my problems are too petty for a God that’s in charge of the entire universe. “Ain’t nobody got time for that.” Haha it’d be hilarious if God actually said that. But for me to be consumed by my problems and issues is my way of saying, “God, You’re not big enough to take care of them. You’re not powerful enough to take them away. You’re not good enough to have compassion towards me.” And these are all LIES. My God is so big, so powerful, so CRAZY GOOD, that He can do all things and make all things possible. There is literally nothing that He can’t do. With a God like that on my team, by my side, why should I be afraid? Why should I be stressed out? And if I know He loves me and cares for me, He must be attentive to everything about me, down to every little detail and every little concern. Just like the “Footprints” poem, the Lord replies, “The times when you have seen only one set of footprints in the sand, is when I carried you.”

2. “Do you want to spend the rest of your life worrying or worshipping? Do you want to be overwhelmed by the glory of God or overwhelmed by everything else?”
This carries over from the first point. Lately, I’ve been really obsessed with the night sky, especially with the ninety-degree weather here in Davis, which means CLEAR NIGHT SKIES! I still have yet to go stargazing, but I’ve just been so in awe by how big God is. I know this is an inherent truth in God’s character, but He’s been consistently reminding me of this truth in the last couple of weeks. The more I look at all the stars out there, the more I look at the beauty in nature, the more I look at the people around me who can laugh and have a good time in good company, God made all of this. He spoke the world into existence, and with one command, all of this came to be, and God saw it all as good. By putting all of this into perspective, I am so. small. in comparison to my great Father. How much smaller are my problems, issues, and conflicts? How much more insignificant are the little things that tick me off? Why am I so caught up about these things when there is a God who made all things? A God who created the world and all of its beauty? A God who breathed life into all of us? God’s character and entire Being is so much more overwhelming than everything else that’s consuming my thoughts. 

3. Whatever a person did to hurt me or harm me, God has used it for good.
Joseph was sold into slavery by his brothers, thrown into jail, yet he persevered and eventually became the king’s right hand man. In Genesis 50:20, Joseph says, “You intended to harm me, but God intended it for good to accomplish what is now being done, the saving of many lives.” God makes all things work together for my good, no matter the situation I’m in. God is always, always good, and I simply have to trust in Him and remain faithful to His ways. Once I’m aligned with God’s will and His path for me, everything will fall into place. Things might not look like they’re going well now, but God will use it for good, whether to strengthen me, mold me, or bring me something better in the future. 

Psalm 16:11
You have made known to me the path of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand.

Colossians 3:1-2
Since, then, you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is seated at the right hand of God. Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things.

Jeremiah 17:7-8
“But blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord, whose confidence is in him. He will be like a tree planted by the water that sends out its roots by the stream. It does not fear when heat comes; its leaves are always green. It has no worries in a year of drought and never fails to bear fruit.”

Leave a Reply

