The love post

24 hours until the dreaded Valentine’s Day. Not that I’m bitter about being single or anything like that. No, not at all.

Haha I just had a rough day. A rough week so far, actually. Too many late nights, too much frustration and studying and all kinds of negativity, which makes me very unhappy and stressed out. I almost decided not to go to large group tonight, but of course, God pushed me to go.

I open the doors, walk in, and I see a bunch of freshmen guys lined up on the side, dressed up nicely with posters saying “Happy Valentine’s Day!” and flowers. Ahhhh they were holding flowers!!! I had no idea what was going on until someone came up to me and was like, “Too bad you’re not a freshmen girl!” …. Boooo. I didn’t know they were being selective about who they wanted to wish “Happy Valentine’s Day” to. Regardless, it was sooo cute seeing all the freshmen guys get together to do something sweet for the freshmen girls. I was a tad bit jealous, but it definitely put a smile on my face!

I walked up to Rebecca for her to give me my name tag. She asked me how my day was, and honestly it’s been pretty sucky, so that’s what I told her. She looked at me and said, “I’m gonna make your name tag extra special.” And on the white label she wrote, “Beautiful.” That was way too sweet of her! I thanked her and walked into the room, and people noticed my name tag and started calling me beautiful. I was so flattered.

Allen showed up to large group tonight as well, which was unexpected. I asked him to walk me to my car because I didn’t want to walk two long blocks in the dark by myself, and he agreed to walk me after he got his bike. On the way to my car, he asks about my weekend and my week, and I told him about my stressful week and my lack of sleep, among other things. When we got to my car, he looked me and said, “Can I just pray for you?” I didn’t expect that, but he prayed for me and everyone involved in my conflicts, and I swear I felt so at peace afterwards.

The point of this post wasn’t to show how much of a sap I can be, which may happen a lot. The message that Char brought to us at large group tonight revolved around 1 Corinthians 13. Yes, the one about love. God reinforced in me how often He shows His love through people. I was so encouraged by the act of love that the freshmen guys did for the girls, I was so flattered by Rebecca’s act of kindness, and I was so blessed by Allen’s act of prayer.

Yes, they are all men and women of faith. But oftentimes, people of faith do not know how to love other people. They can go on and on about how much they love God, but when it comes down to loving people and showing them how much they care, it becomes a problem. A lot of people fall away from God and Christianity because they’ve been hurt by the people at church. God’s greatest commandment for us is to love Him and love others. Yet, both can be difficult.

My night instantly got better through these small acts of love from my friends. I can’t stress enough how much these little things meant to me, especially after a rough day. God provides people for us because He knows our heart and what we need, and I’m just so thankful that He provided these people in my life.

1 Corinthians 13:1-3
If I speak in the tongues of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast, but do not have love, I gain nothing.”

Goodnight. It’s been a long week, but it can only get better from here.

Leave a Reply

