The procrastination post

1 Samuel 16:7
But the Lord said to Samuel, “Do not consider his appearance or his height, for I have rejected him. The Lord does not look at the things people look at. People look at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks at the heart.”

Today’s one of those days when I know I have a lot of work to do, but I just don’t wanna do any of it. It reminds me of this:


That’s pretty much what I look like right now. Haha I kinda miss Tumblr. But not really.

Anyway. I just HAD to do a quick post on that verse. When I first started going to church at DCA last quarter, Pastor Jonathan did his sermon on 1 Samuel, and I loved the message. I’m not too familiar with the Old Testament at all, and I haven’t heard a lot of sermons where the pastor would use verses from the Old Testament, so it was a pleasant surprise.

Basically, from what I remember from the sermon, Samuel was appointed by God to find a new king, since Saul wasn’t doing his job. Samuel met up with Jesse and his sons, and he was told that one of Jesse’s sons would be the king. Samuel saw one of the sons and thought immediately, “Oh this must be the king that God’s talking about.” I assume it’s because this son looked big and strong. But nope, God tells him the verse above, saying that He doesn’t look at the outward appearance, which is what people tend to look at. God looks at the heart. From that, He told Samuel to anoint David, who was tending the sheep while Jesse brought the rest of his sons to go before Samuel. Wasn’t David one of Jesse’s sons? Didn’t Samuel tell Jesse to bring out all his sons? David was disregarded, forgotten, left behind… but God saw his heart and knew he was the one.

This past Tuesday, I stayed over at my friend’s place after fellowship until about 3 in the morning, chatting about life. We brought up how we were merely acquaintances in high school, and my friend even admitted to judging me to be a “mean girl.” I actually wasn’t surprised, because people still call me mean today. Haha hopefully in a joking way. But on a more serious note, my friend told me that a lot of people are judged relative to the people they hang out with, and because of the people I hung out with, my friend assumed that I was just like them. I wasn’t surprised when my friend told me, just because a lot of people have judged me in that way before. When I first heard it in high school, I was shocked. Yeah, these are the people I hang out with, but how do the things they do and the things they say reflect what I would do or what I would say? Why must I be generalized with them? It just didn’t make any sense to me. But at the same time, these ARE the people I hang out with. These are the people that I interacted with on a daily basis, and it would make sense why other people would clump us all together.

Over the years, I’ve noticed the ways I’m different from my group of friends, but also the ways I’m similar to them. Even though most of them aren’t Christians, we all make the same mistakes. I can’t point the finger at them and have that “holier than thou” mentality just because I’m a Christian; that doesn’t change the fact that I can say mean things and judge people and hurt others. The way I judge other people could be the same way that other people judge me. Why should I be angry with others when I do the same things myself? Gotta take that plank out of my own eye.

Regardless, it brings me comfort to know that God sees my heart in all circumstances, and He knows me best above all. I hate being thrown into some sort of stereotype and expected to be a certain person, look like a certain person, or fit in with a certain crowd. I don’t have to please anyone; God’s already satisfied with who I am, and He knows my heart. Why should I worry about what other people see of me? I may not be pretty enough, skinny enough, smart enough, outgoing enough to other people, but to God, I am enough. As long as my heart is in the right place, God will see that, and no matter what others think of me on the outside, I can trust that I am loved by God for who I am on the inside (super cheesy haha).

I’m remembering this verse as I prepare my heart to go to Mexico. I’m excited to be with the children there, because I’m sure that although they don’t have much, God has given them beautiful hearts, and He loves them all so dearly.

God sees what other people don’t see: He looks at the heart and sees beauty in every single one of us, no matter our outward appearance. That’s all I’ll need.

Leave a Reply

