Steady my heart

James 1:2-6
Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything. If any of you lacks wisdom, you should ask God, who gives generously to all without finding fault, and it will be given to you. But when you ask, you must believe and not doubt, because the one who doubts is like a wave of the sea, blown and tossed by the wind.

These were the verses used for yesterday’s large group message, and it was definitely what I needed. Not just because of the implication of joy in the midst of trials, but also because these verses were part of a Bible study that I attended back at FCBC, and I was instantly brought back to that time when us counselors sat around the big table that took up almost the entire room, with Donald sitting by the window facilitating our discussion. For large group, we also sang some older songs, and those reminded me of FCBC as well. “Shout to the Lord,” “Sing to the King,” and “How Great is Our God” were some of my favorites growing up, and it was just so crazy being in Hunt Hall with all these people that I had just met in Davis, singing these songs that I used to sing all the time at FCBC. It felt familiar, and I was so at peace during the entire large group.

The songs, the message… everything seemed to confirm God’s never-ceasing presence in my life. Even though I’m in Davis with my DCF family, a brand new community, I can still feel at home. Even though I’m going through brand new trials, I can still feel at peace. And that’s because the same God is still with me. The same God is still watching over me, guiding me through my trials and walking beside me. Throughout the entire large group, I could almost sense God reassuring me, reminding me of all the times in the past that He’s helped me get up and out of the darkness.

This time, it won’t be any different. God knows my heart better than I do, so I just need to continue to trust in Him and seek His wisdom.

On another note: Had a third phone call with my mom in the last two weeks. This time, I called to confirm that I sent off the tax forms and my W2. She thought that was the end of the conversation, but I had to tell her about my plan for spring break: to go to Rancho de Sus Niños with DCF. Surprisingly, I was so at peace talking to her, and surprisingly, she was okay with me going. Soooo.. I guess I’m going to Mexico over spring break!! Super excited, super nervous, but once again, I’m trusting that God will take care of everything, as long as I maintain my faith in Him.

Lover of my soul, healer of my scars; You steady my heart.

Leave a Reply

